SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA: Germany – DAAD In-Region Scholarship Programme

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) is offering funding to Sub-Saharan African students for full-time Master or PhD degrees in their home country or in another Sub-Saharan African country as part of its In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme. The programme promotes the mobility of researchers between Sub-Saharan African countries and capacity building at Sub-Saharan African universities.


Degree level


Master and PhD studies.




Application deadlines can be viewed in the DAAD Scholarship Database.


Who can apply?


- Master’s programme: Graduates and postgraduates from Sub-Saharan Africa with a first academic degree

- Doctoral programme: Graduates and postgraduates from Sub-Saharan Africa with a Master’s degree


- Female applicants and candidates from less privileged regions or groups are especially encouraged to participate in the programme.


Fields of Study


Below the list of degree programmes funded within this scholarship programme in the regions West and Central Africa, Eastern Africa and Southern Africa, including the links to the respective calls for applications




University of Abomey – Calavi (UAC) Faculty of Agronomic Sciences, Subject field: Mathematics (Master, PhD)

- International Chair in Mathematical Physics and Applications (CIPMA), Subject fields: Natural Sciences (Master, PhD)


Burkina Faso:

International Institute for Water and Environmental Engineering (2iE), Subject field: Engineering (Master, PhD)



University for Development Studies (UDS), Department of Public Health, Subject field: Medicine - Public Health (Master Phil, Master Sc)

University of Ghana:



University of Ibadan, Subject fields: Fisheries Management and Energy Studies (Master)




Addis Ababa University - IPSS, Subject field: Global & Area Studies (PhD)

Hawassa University - Wondo Genet College of Forestry and Natural Resources (WGCF), Subject field: Agro-Forestry (Master)



Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), Subject fields: Information Technology (PhD), Mechanical Engineering (PhD)

Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI), Subject field: Health Management (taught at Strathmore University) (PhD)

Kenyatta University, Subject fields: Biotechnology (PhD), Environmental Planning (PhD), Renewable Energy (Master)

Moi University

Mount Kenya University, Subject fields: Medical Surgical Nursing (Master), Public Health (Master)

Strathmore University, Subject fields: Computer Science/IT (PhD), Mathematics (Master, PhD)



Alzaiem Alazhari University, Subject field: Family Medicine (Master)



Ardhi University, Subject fields: Built Environment Analysis (PhD), Housing and Settlement Studies (PhD), Urban Planning and Management (PhD)

Tanzanian-German Centre for East African Legal Studies (TGCL), University of Dar es Salaam, Subject field: Law (Master)



Busitema University, Subject field: Public Health (Master)

Makerere University, Subject fields: Environment and Natural Resource (Master), Plant Breeding (PhD)



African Economic Research Consortium (AERC), Subject field: Agriculture Economics (PhD)

International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE), Subject field: Insect Science (PhD)




University of Malawi, Subject field: Environmental health (Master)


Scholarship offer


  • Monthly allowance
  • Study and research allowance
  • Printing allowance
  • Tuition fees
  • Travel allowance
  • Health insurance
  • Scholarship holders are eligible to apply for one of six interdisciplinary summer schools offered in Germany during their funding period:


- Heidelberg University – Enhancing Academic Qualifications in Teaching and Research in Public Health

- HAW Hamburg – Education And Research oriented Training in Health Sciences

- TH Cologne – Data to Decision: Assessment of the Water-Energy-Food (WEF) Nexus

- University of Frankfurt – Environmental and Remote Sensing Data Analysis via Geospatial Technologies in Research and Teaching

- ABI Freiburg – Contested Governance

- University of Leipzig – Project Development for Knowledge Transfer


Application process


Candidates must apply for the scholarship via the DAAD portal




Scholarships on offer, calls for application and application deadlines can be viewed in the DAAD Scholarship Database:


DAAD In-Country/In-Region Programme Sub-Saharan Africa





Please note that this opportunity is not offered by the Department of Higher Education and Training. Applicants are required to undertake their own research into programmes and institutions and are responsible for ensuring that the qualifications will be recognised in South Africa. If there are any discrepancies in the details provided, the information given by the sponsor supersedes the details provided above. No additional financial support will be provided by the Department of Higher Education and Training.