The call for applications for the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s scholarship programme funded by the European Union (EU) Programme is open for studies from 2024 academic year.

Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters are prestigious international master’s programmes, jointly designed and delivered by a group of higher education institutions. They involve at least 3 institutions from at least 3 different countries, and multiple associated partners from the academic and non-academic world.

More information on the Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters Programme is available on the Erasmus + website accessible via Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters (students) | Erasmus+ (

Degree Level

Master’s (12 - 14 months)


Deadlines vary depending on the offering country and institutions.

Visit Course catalogue to explore the various joint master’s programme available.

Who can apply?

  • Citizens of qualifying countries (including South Africans)
  • Must be in a possession of a Bachelor’s or higher degree (master’s level)
  • Must meet the entry requirements of the desired master’s degree

Each master's website has all the details about the course of study, the list of the participating universities, the entry requirements and all the steps of the application process (with and without scholarship).

Fields of Study

The Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Programmes are available in a variety of study fields.

Link to course catalogue is available here.


Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belgium, Bulgaria, Belarus, Switzerland Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, United Kingdom, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Moldova, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Russia, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, Ukraine

What the scholarship covers

  • Tuition;
  • Travel;
  • Living allowance;
  • Visa.

Scholarship packages may differ, specific scholarship offers are available under each programme information.

Application process

Applications are strictly online via the EMJM portal and applicants must apply directly to the institution running their chosen programme.

Visit the Erasmus Mundus Joint master’s degree Portal and search for the study course you are interested in and follow the stated application process.

Downloads, Links and other resources

Erasmus Mundus Joint master’s degree Portal

Course catalogue

Researchers (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions)

TVET Mobility Opportunities

More opportunities for individuals

Erasmus+ support for students, staff and others


Please note this scholarship is not offered by the Department of Higher Education and Training. Applicants are required to undertake their own research into programmes and institutions and are responsible for ensuring that the qualifications will be recognised in South Africa. If there are any discrepancies in the details provided regarding the scholarship, the information given by the sponsor supersedes the details provided above. No additional financial support will be provided by the Department of Higher Education and Training other than stated above.